Scam Artist

 

I have always been a fan of Social Engineering. That is the trait of making someone believe you are someone that you are not. I am not a professional at the trait, but I have used it to my advantage in high school. I used to make copies of class change forms and stole class codes from my classmates. I would continually fill out the forms and would convince school officials to sign the form. Anyone could get it approved, from the principal to a counselor, with help from my friends and teachers, who wrote the recommendations that would get approval. I would then take that form to the little Asian guy hidden in a room in the back of the school, who inputs the information into the computer. Days later, I would pick up my new school I.D. card. I would always aim for someone different each time, so they wouldn’t recognize me the follow times. I was designed to have eight I.D. cards for each one of the lunch periods throughout the day. It was my senior year, and I had a bunch of classes to make up, and the best way was to do it for lunch. Needless to say, I graduated.

 

I admire Frank Abagnale. Frank was the idea behind the movie, Catch Me If You Can. Tom Hanks and Leonardo DiCaprio, who played Frank, started the film. Frank’s parents go through a terrible divorce, and Frank ran away from home. He begins making a living by pretending to be multiple experts, anything from being a pilot, doctor, and even a Lawyer. The feds follow him to France and end up arresting him. They offer him a chance of redeeming his self if he worked for the government in identifying fraudulent checks and so on. I know my crime isn’t as major as his. My admiration doesn’t come from the crime he committed but the outcome of doing something he liked. I think that’s the ultimate nirvana is doing something you loved.

Leave a comment